Fellows and Other Recognitions for Post-Graduate Physicists 

EDI Statement. Click to read more.

Each year the CAP recognizes excellence in Research, Teaching, and Service in physics within Canada, as listed below.

Fellows Program
Medals for Research
Medal for Applied Physics and Research
Medal for Service
Medal for Undergraduate Teaching

Click here to view past winners by year.

Click here to go to the recognitions nomination system.

Questions and comments can be directed to programs@cap.ca

Fellows Program – Nominations due Feb. 1, 2024

This honour recognizes an active member of the CAP who has made significant contributions that set them apart from their peers in two of four eligibility categories, with a minimum of 10 years of experience in the field of physics. The complement of FCAPs will not exceed 10% of the full membership of the CAP. More information here.

Medals for Research – Deadline Dec. 17, 2023

The CAP recognizes achievements across many branches of research in physics. Click on the links below to find out more about these awards.

CAP Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Physics (awarded annually)

Awarded on the basis of significant contributions to physics over an extended period of time, and/or recent significant achievement.

CAP Herzberg Medal (awarded annually)

This medal is to recognize significant contributions in any field of research by a Canadian physicist who has successfully defended their doctoral thesis within the last 12 years.

CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics (awarded annually) (2024 Nominations deadline extended to Jan 15, 2024)

The objective of this award is to recognize research excellence in the fields of theoretical and mathematical physics.

CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal (awarded annually)

The purpose of this award is to recognize and encourage significant experimental or theoretical contributions to condensed matter and materials physics.

CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal in Subatomic Physics (awarded annually)

The purpose of this award is to recognize and encourage outstanding experimental or theoretical contributions to subatomic physics.

Medal for Applied Physics and Research – Next awarded in 2025

CAP Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Industrial and Applied Physics (awarded on odd years)

This medal is intended to recognize and promote the creativity of scientists working in Canada in the area of industrial and applied physics, and to particularly recognize the successful application of physical principles to the creation of practical innovations, as demonstrated (for example) by novel/commercializable products or processes, and/or patents.

Medal for Service – Next awarded in 2025

CAP-COMP Peter Kirkby Memorial Medal for Outstanding Service to Canadian Physics (awarded on odd years)

The medal is intended to recognize service to the physics community by strengthening the Canadian physics community, by enhancing the profession of physical scientists, by effectively communicating physics to the non-scientific community, or by making physics more attractive as a career.

Medal for Undergraduate Teaching – Deadline Dec. 17, 2023

CAP Medal for Excellence in Teaching Undergraduate Physics (awarded annually)

The CAP Medal for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching is to honour faculty members who possess the ability to communicate their knowledge and understanding in such a way as to lead their students to high academic achievement in physics.