CAP-COMP Peter Kirkby Memorial Medal for Significant Service to Canadian Physics

EDI Statement. Click to read more.

The CAP-COMP Peter Kirkby Memorial Medal recognizes outstanding service to Canadian physics. The medal is intended to recognize service to the physics community by strengthening the Canadian physics community, by enhancing the profession of physical scientists, by effectively communicating physics to the non-scientific community, or by making physics more attractive as a career. It is intended to provide a lasting memorial to Peter Kirkby and to recognize in others the qualities for which he is remembered best: a vision of a strong Canadian physics community, dedicated efforts to support that vision and, in all things, fairness, and honesty.

The Peter Kirkby Memorial Medal was introduced in 1996 and is awarded biennially.

Know a worthy candidate for this award?

Click below to go to the medal nomination system. Any questions regarding the nomination process should be sent to

The next medal will be awarded in 2025.


2023 Winner

Laura Pankratz | Government of Alberta

View Previous Winners

Nomination Criteria                                           Nomination Procedure

  • The nominator must be a member of the CAP or COMP.
  • The nominee must be a member in good standing of the CAP or COMP in order to be nominated.
  • The nominee must have spent the major part (i.e. more than one-half) of their working career in Canada or must have made a major contribution to physics after returning to a permanent position in Canada.
  • While teaching may be an aspect of the service to Canadian physics for which a candidate is recognized, normally outstanding teaching would be recognized by the CAP’s Medal for Excellence in Teaching. Equally, while research may be an aspect of the service to Canadian physics for which a candidate is recognized, normally outstanding achievement in research would be recognized by other CAP medals.

Although the CAP’s nomination system currently has an English-only interface, nominations may be submitted in either English or French.  The CAP is committed to ensuring that applications submitted in either official language are treated equitably. Furthermore, the CAP commits to ensuring that those evaluating awards will have a thorough understanding of the impact of bias to take it into account while reviewing nominations.