Lecture Tour Speaker Requirements and Regional Dept. List


The 2022 CAP Lecture Tour for undergraduates is supported by contributions to the CAP Foundation from individual and corporate members, as well as by participating physics departments and sponsors. The goals are to

  1. share the excitement of current developments in physics with undergraduate students across the country;
  2. promote and celebrate the study of physics in Canada;
  3. enhance collaborations between CAP and Canadian physics departments;
  4. enhance the visibility of CAP in the Canadian university community, and
  5. promote student memberships in the CAP.

Speaker Eligibility

● Nominees must be a CAP member in good standing or become a CAP member no later than November 5th.
● As a way to encourage nominees from our Corporate CAP members, nominees from industry do not have to be CAP members, but membership is encouraged.

Institutional Hosts

● All CAP member departments will be invited to apply to host one of the six in-person lectures, one in each CAP region listed below
● Interested member departments will have to confirm their ability to act as host for a speaker, and provide an appropriate space and IT resources that will enable the lecture to be live streamed on the CAP YouTube channel.
● From the list of interested institutional hosts, the Lecture Tour Committee will decide on the six host institutions, one in each of the six CAP regions. Preference may be given to smaller departments/institutions, given the impact an external speaker can have on such smaller departments.

CAP Regions

The following is the list of CAP departmental member universities/cegeps who are eligible to host, by region, as of September 1, 2021.

a) Atlantic Canada – 9 institutions
(U. de Moncton, UNB Fredericton, U. of PEI, Mount Allison U., Acadia U., Dalhousie U., Saint Mary’s U., St. Francis Xavier U., Memorial U. of NL)

b) Quebec (French) – 9 institutions
(Cégep Edouard-Montpetit, U. de Montréal, U. de Sherbrooke, U. du Québec à Trois-Rivières, U. Laval, Cégep Garneau, Coll. Ahuntsic, École Polytechnique de Montréal, Centre matapédien d’études collégiales)

c) Eastern Ontario and Quebec (English) – 8 institutions
(Trent U., Queen’s U., Royal Military College, U. of Ottawa, Carleton U., McGill U., Concordia U., Bishop’s U.)

d) Southwestern Ontario – 11 institutions

(U. of Windsor, U. of Western Ont., U. of Waterloo, Wilfrid Laurier U., U. of Guelph, McMaster U., Brock U., U. of Toronto, Ryerson U., York U., U. of Ont. Inst. Tech.)

e) Eastern Prairies and Lakehead – 6 institutions

(U. of Saskatchewan, U. of Regina, Brandon U., U. of Winnipeg, U. of Manitoba, Lakehead U.)

f) BC and Western Prairies – 11 institutions

(U. of Victoria, UBC, SFU, UNBC, U. of the Fraser Valley, Okanagan College, U. of Alberta, U. of Calgary, U. of Lethbridge, UBC Okanagan Campus, Kwantlen Polytechnic U.)