CAP Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Physics

EDI Statement. Click to read more.

This medal is awarded on the basis of significant contributions to physics over an extended period of time, and/or recent significant achievement. The CAP Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Physics was introduced in 1956 and is awarded annually. 

Know a worthy candidate for this award?

Click below to go to the medal nomination system. Any questions regarding the nomination process should be sent to

The next medal will be awarded in 2024. Deadline for nominations is 23h59 ET December 17th, 2023.


2023 Winner

 Robert Myers | Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics

View Previous Winners

Nomination Criteria                                       NOMINATION PROCEDURE

  • The nominator must be a member of the CAP.
  • The nominee must be a member in good standing of the CAP or a Council-approved Canadian professional science society (see list below) in order to be nominated.
  • The nominee must have spent the major part (i.e. more than one-half) of their working career in Canada or must have made a major contribution to physics after returning to a permanent position in Canada.

Although the CAP’s nomination system currently has an English-only interface, nominations may be submitted in either English or French.  The CAP is committed to ensuring that applications submitted in either official language are treated equitably. Furthermore, the CAP commits to ensuring that those evaluating awards will have a thorough understanding of the impact of bias to take it into account while reviewing nominations.

Council-approved Canadian professional science society

The nominee must belong to one of the following societies to be eligible for the CAP Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Physics:

  • Canadian Association of Physicists
  • Canadian Astronomical Society
  • Canadian Biophysical Society
  • Canadian Geophysical Union
  • Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society
  • Canadian Organization for Medical Physicists
  • Canadian Society for Chemistry