External Organizations Offering Awards and Prizes

CIFAR IUPAP Killam Nobel
NSERC RSC Patrick Whippey

Approximate deadlines are bracketed. Please visit sponsor sites for current deadlines and additional information.

Association francophone pour le savoir – ACFAS


  • Prix Jacques Rousseau award (Multidisciplinarité), Prix J-Armand-Bombardier (Innovation technologique), Prix Urgel-Archambault (Sciences physiques,mathématiques , informatique et genie). (March 1)

American Institute of Physics


The AIP sponsors several prizes including the Tate Medal for International Leadership in Physics (May 3) which recognizes leadership and service to the physics community on an international level by non-US scientists.

Atlantic Provinces Council on the Sciences (APICS)


  • APICS Science Communication Awards (Early February)

American Physical Society


  • APS awards include the Fluid Dynamics Prize (March 31), the James Clerk Maxwell Prize for Plasma Physics (April 3), the W.K.H. Panofsky Prize in Experimental Particle Physics and the J.J Sakurai Prize for theoretical particle physics (May 1), and a large number of prizes for contributions in specific areas (July 1)

CIFAR Azrieli Global Society Program


  • The CIFAR Azrieli Global Scholars program (October 27) supports exceptional early-career researchers with an interdisciplinary, global network, mentorship, leadership development, and $100,000 CAD in unrestricted research support.


C3 Commission on Statistical Physics


  • The Early Career Award in Statistical Physics (Dec. 31) for a researcher who has not reached the age of 37 in the year of the award.  This award is presented every third year with the next to be awarded in 2019.
  • The Boltzmann Award honours outstanding achievements in Statistical Physics. It is presented every three years at the International Conference on Statistical Physics (STATPHYS19).

C5 Commission on Low Tempurature


  • Deadline for submission is November 15, 2019

C6 Commission on Biological Physics


  • IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Biological Physics. Recipient must be no more than eight years post PhD, excluding career interruptions (deadline: early March of year preceding International Conference of Biological Physics ICBP)

C8 Commission on Semiconductors


  • IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Semiconductors (deadline: December 31 each odd year)
  • Deadline for submission is December 31, 2019

C9 Commission on Magnetism


  • IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Magnetism
  • Deadline for submission is January 31, 2020

C12 Commission on Nuclear Physics


  • IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Nuclear Physics (deadline: October 1 of year preceding International Nuclear Physics Conference)

C14 Commission on Physics Education


  • The Medal of the International Commission on Physics Education of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (awarded every three years)

C20 Commission on Computational Physics


  • The Young Scientist Prize in Computational Physics is aimed at recognising outstanding achievements of scientists at an early stage of their careers in computational physics. (March 1)

Canada Council for the Arts Killam Program


  • One Killam prize per year is awarded in each of natural sciences, health sciences, engineering, humanities, and social sciences. Nomination deadline is late October.
  • Killam Research Fellowships provide release time for up to two years. Application deadline is mid May.

The Nobel Prize


  • The nomination and selection of the Nobel laureates is to a large extent handled by the Nobel Committees of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. Selected individuals are invited to send nominations.



  • NSERC prizes include the John C. Polanyi Award (March 1), the Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering and the NSERC Gerhard Herzberg Gold Medal and NSERC award of excellence (May 1), the NSERC Synergy awards for innovation (May 31), the NSERC Steacie Fellowships (June 30) and the Michael Smith Awards for Science Promotion (September 1).

Royal Society of Canada


  • The Royal Society of Canada sponsors many awards including the RSC Alice Wilson Award for a woman at the postdoctoral level, Thomas W Eadie Medal for applied science with an impact in communications, the McNeil Medal for public awareness of science, the Rutherford Memorial Medals for outstanding research in physics and in chemistry, the Sir John William Dawson medal (biannual) for important contributions in multiple domains, Willet G. Miller Medal (biannual) for outstanding research in any branch of earth sciences, and the Henry Marshall Tory Medal (biannual) for outstanding research in any branch of astronomy chemistry, mathematics, physics, or an allied science. Nomination deadlines are December 1.

The Patrick Whippey Award for Science Outreach


  • The 2020 Patrick Whippey Award will be awarded to a teacher at the high school, college, or undergraduate level who has made a significant impact in physics or astronomy education outside of the classroom. Nomination deadlines are the 3rd week of March, 2020.