International Year of Quantum Science and Technology (IYQ)

Working together to celebrate 2025 as the International Year of Quantum Science and Technology (IYQ)


The International Year of Quantum Science and Technology is a global initiative that aims to strengthen national capacities in the basic sciences and science education. This initiative will highlight the contribution of quantum science to our increased knowledge and understanding of the physical universe, as well as the critical role of quantum science and technology in developing sustainable solutions in energy, education, communications, and human health.

CAP IYQ Task Force


  • Daria Ahrensmeier, Simon Fraser University (Chair of CAP’s Division of Quantum Information)
  • Oliver Stelzer-Chilton, TRIUMF (CAP’s Director of International Affairs)

Current Task Force Members  (listed in alphabetical order by last name)

  • Olivia Di Matteo, UBC/QuantumBC
  • John Donohue, University of Waterloo/IQC
  • Anna Dyring, University of Toronto
  • James Fraser, Queen’s University
  • Melissa Greene, Université de Sherbrooke/Curieux Quantique
  • Ania Harlick, University of Toronto (DPE)
  • Thomas Jennewein, Simon Fraser University
  • James LeBlanc, Memorial University
  • Lindsay LeBlanc, University of Alberta
  • Shahpoor Moradi, University of Calgary
  • Emily Petroff, Perimeter Institute
  • Sarah Purdy, University of Saskatchewan
  • Chitra Rangan, University of Windsor
  • Julien Ross, Dalhousie University
  • Carlo Maria Scandolo, University of Calgary (DQI)

Current Geographical Breakdown:
British Columbia – 4
Alberta – 3
Manitoba – 0
Saskatchewan – 1
Ontario – 6
Quebec – 1
New Brunswick – 0
Nova Scotia – 1
PEI – 0
Newfoundland/Labrador – 1
Yukon – 0
Northwest Territories – 0
Nunavut – 0