The Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) was founded in July 1945, with F.E. Coombs serving as the inaugural president. Shortly thereafter the Bulletin (now Physics in Canada/La Physique au Canada) and the Annual Congress were introduced. More than 70 years later, CAP has significantly expanded its membership and services and is recognized as the voice of Canadian physicists and physics.

A more in-depth history of CAP is available in the Volume 56 (2) special issue of Physics in Canada/La Physique au Canada celebrating “A century of Canadian physics”

CAP thanks and acknowledges the many physicists and members who have supported and provided leadership to the association.

Current and Past Presidents