NewsFlash: Canadian physicists Raymond Laflamme, David Sinclair, John Hilborn and Sajeev John appointed to Order of Canada

The CAP congratulates CAP members Raymond Laflamme, University of Waterloo/Institute for Quantum Computing and David Sinclair from Carleton University/SNOLAB, as well as Canadian physicist, Sajeev John of the University of Toronto, who were invested as Officers of the Order of Canada as well as John W. Hilborn of Deep River, ON who was invested as a Member of the Order of Canada on Friday, December 29, 2017.

Raymond Laflamme
, O.C. was recognized for “his outstanding achievements as an administrator and researcher who has advanced quantum science and technology in Canada”.


David Sinclair
, O.C. was recognized for “his exceptional contributions to the field of experimental sub-atomic physics and for his leadership as a founding director of the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory project”.


Sajeev John
, O.C. was recognized for “his revolutionary contributions to optical sciences, notably for his role in the development of new structures capable of harnassing the flow of light”.



John W. Hilborn
, C.M. was recognized “for his innovative contributions as a physicist in the development of Canada’s nuclear industry”.


The Order of Canada was created in 1967, during Canada’s centennial year, to recognize outstanding achievement, dedication to the community, and service to the nation. Since its creation, nearly 7000 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order.

See the announcement on the Governor General’s website.