Inaugural Boris P. Stoicheff Memorial Graduate Scholarship awarded to Wilson Brenna from the University of Waterloo

The Canadian Association of Physicists’ Educational Trust Fund (CAP-ETF)  and the OSA Foundation (OSAF) are pleased to announce that the inaugural Stoicheff Memorial Graduate scholarship is being awarded to Wilson Brenna from the University of Waterloo who, as as an undergraduate and graduate student, has demonstrated both academic excellence as well as leadership in helping to organize conferences and being on the Executive of committees to benefit his fellow students

We are very pleased to note that Dr. Peter Stoicheff, son of Boris Stoicheff, and CAP President, Mike Roney, will be presenting the $3k (Cdn) prize award to Wilson during the CAP Congress at the University of Calgary.  The presentation will take place at 4:15 p.m. on Wednesday, June 13.

The CAP-ETF  and the OSAF partnered to establish the Boris P. Stoicheff Memorial Graduate Scholarship as a memorial to Boris P. Stoicheff, an eminent, internationally renowned laser spectroscopist who also served as President of the Canadian Association of Physicists (1983-84) and The Optical Society (OSA) (1976).
The joint CAP-ETF/OSAF scholarship in the amount of $3,000 will be awarded annually to a graduate student who has demonstrated both research excellence and significant service to the optics or physics community.  The scholarship is awarded jointly by ETF and the OSAF, with the administration and presentation of the scholarship rotating between the two societies.  The 2013 scholarship will be administered and awarded by OSAF.
J. Michael Roney, P.Phys.            Shelley Page, P.Phys.               G. Michael Morris
President, CAP                            Chair, CAP-ETF                         Chairman, OSAF