Congratulations to the recipients of the 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences today announced that the 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics is being awarded “for groundbreaking contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems”, with

one half jointly to

Syukuro Manabe of Princeton University, NJ, USA


Klaus Hasselmann of Max Planck Institute for Meteorology, Hamburg, Germany

for the physical modelling of Earth’s climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming

and the other half to

Giorgio Parisi of Sapienza University of Rome, Rome, Italy

for the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales

For more information, see the Nobel Prize press release “Physics for climate and other complex phenomena” at