Congratulations to CAP members, Dr. André Bandrauk and Dr. William Buyers, who were appointed Officers, Order of Canada

André Bandrauk (University of Sherbrooke), “For his pioneering work in attosecond chemistry”.

André D. Bandrauk pioneered the use of quantum scattering theory to describe nonperturbative phenomena in molecular spectroscopy such as predissociation. This research led to the prediction of molecular stabilization in intense laser fields, a theoretical discovery recently confirmed experimentally at the Max Planck Institute (Munich). His theoretical work on the use of chirped pulses to control photochemical processes has had a major impact on both experimental and theoretical developments of this important area of chemical physics. Using advanced supercomputers, he has led the way in predicting the existence of new molecules in the presence of superintense lasers, in controlling electrons in molecules, in elucidating the phenomenon of enhanced ionization of molecules in intense laser fields and most recently in proposing a new imaging technique by lasers for measuring molecular wavefunctions. He is considered a “pioneer” in the new area of intense laser field photochemistry and photophysics. His innovative combination of novel theoretical models and supercomputing techniques has led him with his research group to define new directions in this new emerging field: laser control and manipulation of chemical & physical processes, in which he is an acknowledged leader. He has published over 400 papers and edited 10 books on the subject of laser-molecule interactions, thus establishing himself as a world authority in this new area of modern science. He currently is appointed Canada Research Chair in Computational Chemistry & Molecular Photonics by the Canadian Government and has been awarded NSERC’S highest prize, the J. C. Polanyi Prize for Attosecond Science. (with P.B. Corkum – NRC) and also a similar prize from the Humboldt Foundation (Berlin) and the Quebec government (Prix Marie-Victorin) in 2010.

William Buyers (NRC), “For his contributions to condensed matter physics, particularly in the field of magnetism”.

The National Research Council of Canada (NRC) is proud to announce that Dr. William J. L. Buyers, one of its distinguished scientists, was appointed Officer of the Order of Canada on June 30, 2011 for his contributions to condensed matter physics, particularly in the field of magnetism.

Since his arrival to Canada in 1965, Dr. Buyers has remained at the forefront of highly-correlated electron systems. Some of his early achievements were pivotal in establishing the nature of spin waves and crystal field excitations in magnetic materials, and the nature of impurities in magnetic insulators. He then turned his attention to quantum magnetism, which led to the first observation of the “Haldane Gap” in the spin spectrum of a spin-1 antiferromagnetic chain compound, confirming the highly controversial speculation by theorist D.M. Haldane. Dr. Buyers’ tour de force neutron experiments have since ushered a host of experiments and theoretical studies worldwide that continue to this day.

Today, Dr. Buyers continues an active research program with his many international collaborators that focuses on quantum magnetism and high-temperature superconductors as a visiting scientist of the NRC Canadian Neutron Beam Centre, and the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research. Dr. Buyers retired from his position as a Principal Research Officer of NRC in 2005.

Over the years Dr. Buyers’ accomplishments have been celebrated on a number of occasions, the most notable being the Royal Society of Canada’s Rutherford Medal in 1985, the Gold Medal of the Canadian Association of Physicists in 2001, the Queen’s Jubilee Gold Medal in 2002 and the Honorary degree of Doctor of Science from University of Aberdeen in 2008.

The Order of Canada, one of the country’s highest civilian honours, was established in 1967, during Canada’s centennial year, to recognize a lifetime of outstanding achievement, dedication to community and service to the nation.