CAP congratulates winners of 2020 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics

The 2020 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics has been awarded to the Event Horizon Telescope Collaboration for “the first image of a supermassive black hole, taken by means of an Earth-sized alliance of telescopes.”

The $3 million prize will be shared equally with 347 scientists co-authoring any of the six papers published by the EHT on April 10, 2019, which includes the following CAP Members: Avery Broderick of the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, Daryl Haggard of the McGill Space Institute, and Ue-Li Pen of the Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics.

Another article about the EHT project can be found here.

The CAP congratulates the entire EHT Collaboration for receiving this prestigious award.

Source: Breakthrough Prize