Four CAP members appointed Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada (RSC)

Congratulations to CAP members Kimberly Strong (U.Toronto), Michel Gingras (U.Waterloo), Robert Boyd (uOttawa), and Donna Strickland (U.Waterloo) for their recent appointment as Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada. The complete list of 2019 Fellows and incoming class of The College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists can be found here.

Kimberly Strong

Department of Physics, University of Toronto

Kimberly Strong is an internationally eminent atmospheric physicist who employs an array of spectroscopic techniques to probe the composition of the atmosphere. She has developed novel experimental methodologies and analysis tools, and established long-term observing capabilities in the Canadian Arctic and elsewhere. Her research has provided new insights into the physical and chemical processes that drive atmospheric change, furthering our understanding of ozone depletion, air quality, and climate.


Michel Gingras

Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Waterloo

Michel Gingras has made internationally acclaimed contributions to the field of condensed matter physics, in particular in the area of magnetic materials subject to strongly competing, or frustrated, interactions as well as condensed matter systems subject to frozen random disorder. Using analytical and numerical methods, he has explained a number of long-standing experimental paradoxes, provided an impetus for new experimental studies and motivated the synthesis of new magnetic compounds.


Robert Boyd

Department of Physics, University of Ottawa

Robert Boyd is an internationally acclaimed expert in nonlinear optics and photonics. He has made significant contributions to the development of methods for controlling the velocity of light, of quantum imaging methods, and for the theoretical description and laboratory characterization of materials and metamaterials that display giant optical nonlinearity. He is also noted for pedagogical work aimed at conveying the conceptual understanding of the nature of nonlinear optical interactions.


Donna Strickland

Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Waterloo

Donna Strickland is a recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 for co-inventing chirped pulse amplification (CPA), the method for creating high-intensity, ultrashort optical pulses. CPA revolutionized the field of highintensity laser physics, leading to the most intense lasers ever. The work provided new information on the way light interacts with matter. It has applications from medicine to manufacturing.