2016 Nobel Prize in Physics awarded to US-based researchers David Thouless, Duncan Haldane, and Michael Kosterlitz for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter.

The CAP congratulates David Thouless of the University of Washington, Duncan Haldane of Princeton University, who is also a Distinguished Visiting Research Chair at Perimeter Institute, and J. Michael Kosterlitz of Brown University, recipients of the 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics for their work on exotic states of matter. Kosterlitz and Thouless were the architects of an exotic phase transition which bears their names. Haldane has made a large number of seminal contributions to theoretical condensed matter physics including Luttinger liquids, the Fractional Quantum Hall Effect and exclusion statistics, to name but a few.

More information about the 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics can be found on the Nobel Prize website at https://www.nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/physics/laureates/2016/